President Mnangagwa Retains Presidency

Zimbabwe President and Zanu PF leader Emmerson Mnangagwa has retained the presidency of the country by a 52.6 percent margin.

Mnangagwa swooped to victory with 2 350 111 total votes ahead of Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC) leader Nelson Chamisa who amassed 44 percent of the election with 1 967 343 total votes.

The results were announced by Zimbabwe Electoral Commission chairperson Justice Priscilla Makanyara Chigumba at the National Command Centre at the Harare International Conference Centre.

Douglas Mwonzora of the MDC-T amassed a total 28 883 votes which amounts to 0.6 percent of the vote.

A total 11 candidates contested in the Presidential race with Elisabeth Valerio of UZA being the only female contestant.

The number of total votes was 4 561 221 and of these, 92 553 were invalid.

This year’s total voter turnout was 68.9 percent. Nhau/Indaba

About newsroom

Check Also

Veteran Actress Stella January Dies

By Judith Matanire Veteran actress Stella January, popularly known as Amai Abhibho, is no more. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *